Upcoming Maintenance - November 11th at 8PM: Please note that our service will be temporarily interrupted for some maintenance for about 3 hours on November 11th starting at 8PM EDT. During this period, the application will be inaccessible and some statistics may not be compiled. Also, some functionalities may be interrupted and any scheduled emails will be sent once the service is restored.
Close

Edit user type and permissions

Edit user type and permissions

To modify a user (their user type or permissions), go to Icone Settings > Users .  Open the  Icone Actions menu located to the right of the row of the user you want to modify and choose the Modify option. Make the necessary changes and don't forget to save before leaving.

If this is an external user, follow the steps here.

Permissions by user type

There are three user levels: administrator, user and custom.

User typesAdministratorUserCustom 
User permissions

Access to all the features, including:

  • managing users (create, delete or modify users and their passwords)
  • making the use of two-factor authentication mandatory
  • resetting a user's two-factor authentication
  • creating or deleting API tokens

Access to all features (EXCEPT management of users, their authentication methods and API tokens).

 

Access only to basic permissions, plus customizable permissions that are granted.

You can choose which features the user will have access to.

Basic permissions

Basic permissions are features that are available to all user types and for which it is not possible to restrict access.

All user types can, among other things:

  • Create, edit or delete templates
  • Create, edit or delete drafts
  • Create, edit or delete groups
  • Create, edit or delete forms
  • Create, edit, or delete landing pages
  • View calendar, statistics and the list of mailings
  • Create or edit scenarios under construction
  • Create or edit micro surveys
  • Add or delete files

It is possible to restore certain deleted items, such as templates, drafts, forms, and landing pages, within 30 days of their deletion. Note that all administrators can unlock protected items, but you can restrict access to this feature to users with custom permissions.

Locking groups prevents changing group settings, but not changing the contact list. By using custom permissions you can restrict the right to read contacts to certain users.

Custom permissions

It is possible to choose which features your users have access to with the Custom user type. You need to check which of the permissions below you want them to have access to. If you don't select any permissions, they will only have access to the basic permissions.

Here is the list of customizable permissions by section:

Contacts

  • View contacts (Access and export contact information.)
  • Manage contacts (Add, edit, delete and unsubscribe contacts.)

For a user to be able to manage contacts, they must also have the View contacts permission.

Note: Users without the Billing information permission can now view payment information in read-only mode (billing address and last 4 digits of the credit card), but cannot edit it. They do not have access to invoices: the Invoices tab is grayed out, and links to invoices and statements are hidden in the billing period history.

Without the Change plan permission, the My plan page is available in read-only mode. The contact tier can only be changed on the My plan page if the user has both Change plan and Accept contact-level changes.

Mailings

  • Manage mailings (Schedule, cancel, modify or stop mailings. Activate, pause or archive automated marketing scenarios.)

Billing

  • Billing information (Edit payment information and view invoices. Users without this permission can view payment information in read-only mode.)
  • Change plan (Modify or schedule a plan change.)
  • Accept contact-level changes (Change the contact tier, including when importing a contact list.)

Settings

  • Account settings (Manage account information, subscription to account notifications, sender addresses, custom fields, email confirmations, landing page domains, email footer information, social network links and visual options.)

Groups

  • Lock groups (Lock and unlock groups to prevent them from being changed or deleted.)

Templates

  • Lock templates (Lock and unlock templates to prevent them from being changed or deleted.)

Forms

  • Lock forms (Lock and unlock forms to prevent them from being modified, renamed, or deleted.)

See also:

 

Top